Two Czech Universities will take part in the first “European Universities” alliances

10. 10. 2019 | News

Czech UniversitiesEuropean Universities are transnational alliances of higher education institutions from across the EU that were designed to enhance the quality and competitiveness of European higher education, and to boost cooperation between universities, students and staff. The European Commission chose the first 17 European Universities alliances in June 2019.

The first 17 “European Universities” alliances involving 114 higher education institutions from 24 EU Member States were selected out of 54 applications. The selection was made based on an evaluation carried out by 26 independent experts who were appointed by the Commission.

The selection of alliances includes a broad variety of institutions and programs from across the EU, ranging from technical universities, universities of applied sciences and fine arts study programs to comprehensive and research-intense universities. Among them are two universities from the Czech Republic – Charles University and Masaryk University.

European Universities will pool their resources, expertise and platforms to deliver joint curricula or modules offering individual programs. While some alliances cover all disciplines, others focus on concrete research areas. This will give students option to personalize their studies and choose what, where and when to get a European degree. Each alliance is composed on an average of seven higher education institutions from all parts of Europe, leading to new partnerships.

The alliances will also contribute to the sustainable economic development of the regions where they are located. Each alliance is composed on an average of seven higher education institutions from across EU and will receive up to €5 million in the first three years to start implementing their plans. In total, a budget of up to €85 million is available for the first 17 “European Universities”.


See more articles on the topic

The Ranking of Czech Universities

The Czech Republic is a great place for students. According to QS University Ranking, Czechia has very good results. At Czech universities, you can choose from many fields of study, you are provided with both theoretical knowledge and practical skills, get an individual approach, and meet new people. Let’s have a look at some […]

read more

Upcoming conferences in September 2023

The summer is slowly coming to its end which means that the academic year 2023/2024 is here! We hope that you’re excited to either return to school or start an exciting new journey as a first-year university student. There are many interesting conferences that you can attend this September so don’t miss out on those! […]

read more

Upcoming conferences in October

October is almost here and with it another selection of interesting conferences. We hope that some of you attended conferences in September, but if you didn’t manage because the academic year was just starting and you were too busy, there’s always more coming. What can you look forward to in October? Revolution Accomplished October 4-5, […]

read more